The pieces on the Balkan chessboard

Albania: Under Turkish rule until 1913. In state of total anarchy from 1913 to 1921. Ruled by Council of Regency from 1922 to 1924. Republic from 1925 to 1927 under landlord president Ahmed Bey Zogu. Kingdom under King Ahmed Zogu from 1928 to 1939. Formally province of Italy from 1939 to 1944. "People's Republic" from 1945 to date. Throughout first period of independence from 1913 to 1939, Albania was controlled by Italy. For example, the head offices of the National Bank of Albania were located in Rome.

Bulgaria: Under Turkish rule until 1878. Northern Bulgaria became autonomous state as result of Russian-Turkish war. In 1885 united with southern region, Eastern Romelia, under Stambulov. Ferdinand of Saxe-Coburg became Prince of Bulgaria from 1887 to 1911 and King from 1911 to 1918. Entered World War I on side of the Germans, was seriously defeated. After brief period of peasant rule under Stamboliisky, monarchy was established. Joined Tripartite Pact in 1940 and Nazi occupation of Yugoslavia in 1941. Russia invaded in 1944, set up "Peoples' Republic" under Georgi Dimitrov which continues under Todor Zhivkov.

Cyprus: Under Turkish rule until 1914. British gained right to station troops on island in Cyprus Convention of 1878 in return for guaranteeing Asiatic Turkey against Russian attack. Annexed by Great Britain in 1914. Became Crown Colony in 1925. First serious riots of Greek population (four-fifths of total) demanding union with Greece in 1931. Riots and terrorism again very serious in 1954. Republic of Cyprus created in talks in Zürich and London in 1959, set up in 1960.

Greece: Greek War of Independence against the Turks broke out in 1821. Independence proclaimed in 1822, but war continued between Greeks and Turks until 1829, when Great Powers established a Kingdom of Greece. Otto of Bavaria King from 1832 to 1862. Military revolt deposed Otto and brought in Danish Prince George from 1863 to 1913. Territorial expan-

sion took in Ionian islands from Britain. Union with Crete in 1913. Followed tortuous policy in World War I until forced to join Allies in 1917. Republic proclaimed in 1924. Monarchy restored in 1935. In 1936 King George accepted military dictatorship under General Metaxas. Italians attempted invasion in 1940, overrun by Germans in 1942. Liberated by British in 1944. Guerrilla war by communists and monarchists begun against Germans in 1942; broke into civil war in 1944. Monarchists prevailed in 1949. King Constantine overthrown in 1967 by military junta. Parliamentary democracy restored in 1974.

Romania: Independent principality under the Turks in 1862. Full independence in 1877. Prince Charles of Hohenzollern became King Carol in 1881 until 1914. Proclaimed neutrality in 1914 but entered World War I on Allied side in 1916. Doubled size of territory after 1918. Joined Tripartite Pact with Nazis and Italy in 1941. Invaded by Soviets in 1944. "People's Republic" declared in 1947.

Turkey: Ottoman Empire maintained until end of World War I in 1918. Provisional government under President Kemal Atatürk established in 1920. Turkish Republic proclaimed in 1923. Sultanate officially abolished in 1922. Caliphate (Islamic religious leadership) abolished in 1924. Atatürk remained in power until his death in 1938. Republic maintained until present, with brief periods of military intervention in 1960, 1971, and 1980.

Yugoslavia: Kingdom formed when Croatia, Slovenia, and Bosnia-Herzegovina detached from Austria-Hungary and united with principalities of Serbia and Montenegro in 1918. Military coup in 1941 abolished regency; set up pro-Allied government under General Simovic. Nazis invaded ten days later. Military and communists under Tito formed rival resistance groups. Tito established government-in-exile in 1943. Republic declared in 1945 under Ivan Ribar. Breach with Soviets in 1948. Tito became President in 1953 until 1980. Presidency now revolves among heads of ethnic republics for one-year-terms.

EIR March 2, 1982 Special Report 27